Skip to main content

Our work

Institute for Masculinity Research and Gender Studies at the Association for Men and Gender Issues Styria, Graz, Austria.


One of the key aims of the Institute is to foster gender mainstreaming at local, national and international level. Therefore the Institute is integrated into local, national and international networks.

The Institute is part of the Association for Men and Gender Issues Styria and can strongly benefit from this position at the interface to psychosocial praxis.

The Association for Men and Gender Issues Styria is networking in different areas, e.g. through the networks Plattform gegen Gewalt in der Familie (platform against domestic violence), AMÖ (Austrian working group of men’s councelling centres and other men centres) and Gender Lab Graz. The Institute is using these networks when generating social science data in different research areas and disseminating research results. National research and education networks are used as well.

The Institute has numerous and long-standing experience in international cooperation with science and education organizations in member countries of EU, EFTA and OECD.

Researchers of the Institute are members of scientific societies such as the ÖGS (Austrian Society of Sociology) and the DeGEval (Society for Evaluation). The Institute is also a full member of the Wissenschaftskonferenz Österreich (Austrian Science Conference).

  • Coordination and realization of international (e.g. European Union) or national research projects
  • Dissemination of research results: presentations, conferences, seminars and workshops (Gender Lab Graz, see http://www.genderwerkstaette.at(link is external))
  • Evaluation, development of theories, basic research and practice-oriented analyses
  • Consulting and development
  • Networking

Social science projects in our Institute are targeted towards generating, disseminating and applying knowledge about connections between masculinities, gender and education, labour and care, organizations & companies, networks, violence, health and further topics. The focus is on the role of men in these social contexts.

Changes of life and work situations of men are always related to respective changes women experience and to chances for gender equality. Therefore gender relations are a core research focus, considering the background of complex social affiliations and processes of social changes. 

Gender is observed as a category which characterizes social positioning of people. But it is not enough considering men and women as homogenous groups. In addition we have to assume that other social categories like milieu, ethnic affiliations or body crucially influence individual life and social structures. The paradigmatic research perspectives of ‘intersectionality’ and ‘diversity’ take this fact into account.

  • Critical masculinity research
  • Gender, diversity and intersectional research
  • Gender and diversity analyses in organizations and different policy fields
  • Violence and resilience against violence
  • Youth
  • Health
  • Education and labour
  • Urbanism and media art
  • Client analyses in psychosocial contexts
  • Applied research and interference research, e.g. in education work (gender competence, gender reflecting work with boys etc.)
  • Scientific evaluations and assessments in the above fields

Direkt zum Inhalt

Unsere Forschung

Das Institut für Männer- und Geschlechterforschung ist ein außeruniversitäres interdisziplinäres Sozialforschungsinstitut mit Schwerpunkt Männlichkeitsforschung, Intersektionale Analysen und Gender Analyse.


Das Institut für Männer- und Geschlechterforschung verfolgt u.a. das Ziel, die Entwicklung von Geschlechtergleichstellung auf regionaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene voranzutreiben. Deshalb arbeitet das Institut seit 2001 in regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Netzwerken.
 
Durch die Einbindung des Instituts in den Verein für Männer- und Geschlechterthemen Steiermark befindet es sich an der Schnittstelle zur psychosozialen Praxis.
 
Sowohl im Rahmen der Generierung sozialwissenschaftlicher Daten in unterschiedlichen Forschungsbereichen als auch in der Verbreitung der Ergebnisse nützt das Institut für Männer- und Geschlechterforschung die Netzwerke des Vereins für Männer- und Geschlechterthemen Steiermark (bspw. Plattform gegen Gewalt in der Familie; AMÖ - Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Männerberatungsstellen und Männerbüros Österreich; GenderWerkstätte; u.a.), sowie bundsweite Forschungs- und Bildungsnetzwerke.
 
Das Institut für Männer- und Geschlechterforschung verfügt über zahlreiche und langjährige Erfahrungen in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit mit Forschungs- und Bildungsorganisationen in EU- und EFTA- und OECD-Staaten.
 
MiarbeiterInnen des Institut für Männer- und Geschlechterforschung sind Mitglieder der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Soziologie (ÖGS) und der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Evaluation (DeGEval).
Das Institut für Männer- und Geschlechterforschung ist ordentliches Mitglied der Wissenschaftskonferenz Österreich.

  • Koordination und Durchführung von Forschungsprojekten: EU-Forschung und nationale Forschungsprojekte
  • Verbreitung der Forschungsergebnisse: Vorträge, Tagungen, Konferenzen, Seminare und Workshops (GenderWerkstätte)
  • Evaluation, Theorieentwicklung, Grundlagenforschung und praxisrelevante Analysen
  • Beratung und Entwicklung
  • Netzwerkarbeit

Ziel der sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschungsarbeit ist es, Wissen über die Zusammenhänge von Geschlecht/Männlichkeiten und Bildung, Erwerbsarbeit und Betreuungsarbeit, Unternehmen, Netzwerken, Gewalt, Gesundheit und weiteren Themen zu generieren, zu verbreiten und anzuwenden.

Dabei werden die Veränderungen der Lebens- und Arbeitssituationen von Männern immer in Beziehung gesetzt zu entsprechenden Veränderungen bei Frauen und auf Chancen für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter hin betrachtet. Die Beziehungen zwischen den Geschlechtern müssen vor dem Hintergrund komplexer sozialer Zugehörigkeiten und gesellschaftlicher Wandlungsprozesse immer wieder neu fokussiert werden.

Geschlecht wird als Kategorie betrachtet, die die soziale Positionierung von Menschen prägt. Es reicht aber nicht aus, Männer und Frauen als homogene gesellschaftliche Gruppen zu betrachten. Vielmehr ist davon auszugehen, dass andere soziale Kategorien wie etwa Milieu, ethnische Zugehörigkeit oder Körper das individuelle Leben aber auch gesellschaftliche Strukturen maßgeblich beeinflussen. Diesem Umstand wird durch die paradigmatische Forschungsperspektive der ‚Intersektionalität‘ und ‚Diversität‘ Rechnung getragen.

  • Kritische Männerforschung
  • Gender, Diversitäts- und Intersektionalitätsforschung
  • Gender- und Diversity-Analyse in Organisationen und in unterschiedlichen Politikfeldern
  • Gewalt und (Gewalt)Resilienz
  • Jugend
  • Gesundheit
  • Bildung und Arbeit
  • Stadtforschung und Medienkunst
  • Wissenschaftliche Evaluation und Begleitforschung
  • KlientInnenanalyse im psychosozialen Kontext
  • Angewandte Forschung und Interventionsforschung, z.B. für die Bildungsarbeit (Gender Kompetenz; geschlechterreflektierende Burschenarbeit etc.)